January 23, 2011

44th Officer Installation Banquet

Filed under: Events — Jeff Brown @ 08:22

The SVFC meets once a year to celebrate the past year and to officially swear in the elected and appointed officers for the upcoming year. Awards are handed out, speeches are made, and good food and good times are had. After an opening prayer by Chaplain Charlie Grant the members, families, and friends of the SVFC enjoyed a meal followed by a speech by the FEMA Administrator, W. Craig Fugate.

The following awards were presented:

Recruit Firefighter of the Year: Thomas Sumner
Alan Dutton Memorial Firefighter of the Year: Chris Poplar
Officer of the Year: Mark Featherstone
Administrative Member(s) of the Year: Cindy MacRunnel and David Payne

The elected and appointed officers were sworn in, with the oath delivered by Mr. Fugate. The sworn officers included newly promoted Lieutenants Andy Brown, Tim Duckworth, and Chris Poplar.

Sterling Fire would like to recognize the volunteers from Leesburg Fire and Purcellville Fire for covering our stations, protecting Sterling in our place so we could have a night off.

Tribute To Chief Alan W. Dutton from digitaledgephotography on Vimeo.

‹ « » ›

No Comments

No comments yet.